Log in Fall Special

Community Traffic Safety Awards announced


PITTSBURG, Kan. — The Kansas Department of Transportation has announced the winners of its 2022 Community Traffic Safety Awards, including several law enforcement agencies in Southeast Kansas. 

KDOT Law Enforcement Liaison Dan Kiser presented one of the awards to Chief Deputy Nate Jones of the Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office on Friday. 

"I'm proud our team received this award and has been recognized for the twelfth consecutive year, because it's reflective of their dedication and commitment to keeping our community safe while traveling on area roadways," Cherokee County Sheriff David Groves said in a press release. 

Other Southeast Kansas agencies that are recipients of awards for their work in 2022 include the Fort Scott Police Department and Coffeyville Police Department. 

The Community Traffic Safety Award is based off scoring of law enforcement agencies in multiple categories including public education, emergency medical response, enforcement, traffic engineering collaborations and solutions, and awarded to agencies who successfully and cost-effectively foster and improve local traffic safety, according to KDOT.